Convierta esta página en Español

About Us

Our Mission at Laredo Housing Authority

The Laredo Housing Authority’s mission is to serve the diverse housing needs of families within its jurisdiction by:

1. Increasing the availability of constructive, safe, decent, sanitary and affordable in its communities.

2. Ensuring equal opportunity in housing.

3. Promoting self-sufficiency and asset development of families and individuals.

4. Improving resident quality of life and economic viability.

5. Providing high-quality client services.

Our Leadership

The Laredo Housing Authority is governed by a five member Board of Commissioners, one of whom is a Housing Authority resident. The Mayor of the City of Laredo, Texas appoints all board members. The Board of Commissioners has fiduciary responsibility as well as responsibility of establishing and overseeing policy for the agency. The Board of Commissioners also hires the Executive Director, who serves as the agency’s Chief Executive Officer. The Executive Director oversees the day-to-day operations of the Housing Authority and implements policies and programs established by the Board.

For the purposes of maintaining transparency and informing the public at large, LHA will provide the agendas and minutes of its Board of Commissioners meetings.

Board of Directors

Jose L. Ceballos

Chairman of the Board

Appointed 12/11/2015

With more than 20 years of public and private management experience, Jose L. Ceballos is a strong believer in fostering stakeholder collaboration, being publicly transparent and being true to those intended to be served.  He has been active in numerous charitable boards and organizations – including Bethany House of Laredo, Laredo Homeless Coalition, Next Generation Rotary Club, 21st Century Policing Advisory Committee for the City of Laredo, Border Region Behavioral Health Center – Planning and Networking Advisory Council, Eagle Ford Consortium, Future of the Region South Texas, Laredo Environmental Summit, Laredo Humanitarian Relief Team, St. Peters Historic Neighborhood Association, Texas A&M International University – Masters in Public Policy Advisory Board, Avance – Laredo Chapter, Texas Residential Construction Commission,  and the  Laredo Weed and Seed Committee.  Mr. Ceballos owns and operates Totem LLC, which provides consulting services to public and private entities – including executive management, project administration, and external affairs.  He holds a Master of Business Administration degree from Texas A&M University – Commerce and a Bachelor of Science degree from Texas A&M International University.

Dr. Sergio Garza

Vice Chairman of the Board

Appointed 01/14/2016

Dr. Sergio D. Garza has been in the teaching profession for over 31 years. Dr. Garza received a Bachelor’s in Arts & Sciences in the area of Secondary Education and his Master’s degree in Elementary Education. He also holds a Doctorate degree in Bilingual Education from Texas A&M University in Kingsville.

His extensive schooling has afforded him the opportunity to teach students as young as kindergarten all the way to the Master’s level. Currently, he works in the TAMIU Curriculum and Pedagogy Department where he is involved with several initiatives pertaining to service learning. These initiatives include the I.N.E.A. “Plazas Comunitarias” Program in conjunction with the Mexican Consulate, Bethany House of Laredo in the “Luz de Esperanza” tutoring program, the Boys and Girls Clubs of Laredo, and Communities in Schools (CIS) to help with tutoring the in the public school districts of LISD, UISD and ZCISD. Most recently has helped out in a TAMIU tutoring program with study abroad students from Mexican Universities.

Dr. Garza is a firm believer in social justice and is committed to helping people help themselves. He is highly involved in service with the community and the county. He has served as the Dean’s Liaison for early childhood initiatives: Project TEEM and AVANCE. He currently serves as the Border Region Behavioral Center’s PNAC Chair and is the Chair for a 17-county collaborative – Money Follows the Consumer. Most recently, Mayor Pete Saenz appointed Dr. Garza to the Laredo Housing Authority where he serves as Vice-Chair for the organization.

His research interests are in the areas of code-switching, vocabulary acquisition, literacy, and mathematics. Dr. Garza was award the Curriculum & Pedagogy 2016 Teacher of the Year as well as the College of Education 2016 Teacher of the Year.

Dr. Marisela Rodriguez Tijerina


Appointed 04/01/2016

Dr. Marisela Rodriguez is a wonderful asset to the Laredo Housing Authority. After receiving a Master’s of Science in Biology from UTSA, she began teaching at J. B. Alexander High School Magnet for Health and Science. Her trajectory in education continued as she began teaching at Laredo Community College and worked on programs with the U.S. Department of Education and the National Science Foundation. Dr. Rodriguez is currently the Dean of Arts and Sciences at Laredo Community College. She received her Doctorate of Education from Texas A&M in Kingsville in 2016 and currently participates in various professional organizations such as Laredo Board of Realtors and National Board of Realtors, Rotary the Next Generation International Organization, and Texas Community College Teachers Association.

Ms. Anita Guerra


Appointed 03/15/2017

Ms. Anita Guerra was honored to be appointed by Mayor Pete Saenz to the Board of the Laredo Housing Authority on March 15, 2017, and to be able to serve the residents and citizens of Laredo alongside such accomplished board members. She was born and raised in Laredo, Texas. After graduating from J.W. Nixon High School, Commissioner Guerra attended Trinity University in San Antonio, Texas, where she earned her undergraduate degree from Trinity University in four (4) years and subsequently retuned to Laredo, Texas. She continues to work at a local unit of government where she started in 1996 as a research assistant. She has devoted her entire career and over 20 years of her life to serving the local community of Laredo and Webb County through her public sector work. Due to her great love of and strong belief in life-long learning, Commissioner Guerra also earned her advanced degrees from Texas A&M International University, where she earned her Master of English (MA) in 2001, and her Master of Public Administration (MPA) in 2011. Commissioner Guerra also volunteers as an active member of the MPA Program advisory board and currently serves as the president of the MPA Alumni Association. Blessed Sacrament Church, her lifelong parish, is the church at which she attends Sunday mass every week. During her spare time, she enjoys reading, traveling, writing, swimming, volunteering and taking enrichment classes at local institutions of higher learning.

Ms. Gloria Ann Freeman

Resident Commissioner

Appointed 10/10/2019

Maria M. Gaona

Executive Director

Appointed 11/02/2020

Join our Newsletter

This post is also available in: Spanish